03/06/2010

How far should we go?

Posted in media techonolgy, my 2 cents at 9:56 am by Melly

This is my part 2 rant of the surrogates movie.

For starters I want to explain where I am in this. I do play a lot of world of warcraft, many hours a week actually. I’m also dating someone I meet while playing the game, in fact we have been together for almost 3 years now.

What does that say about my opinion of online relationships now? Well, it says I support them and I see the potential of online relationships. I guess I’m here aruging the good side of 2nd life. Only, I personally dislike it …

Here my problem with it,
I started playing World of Warcraft (WoW), as a game, I did not intend to meet anyone online, as a matter of fact, I was in a relationship with someone else at the time. I didn’t play the game looking for match making, or to leave my (now ex) boyfriend.
I understand 2nd life can be used for careers, such as buisness meetings and selling products. Aside from that, I can not see a reason to use 2nd life.
As a person who spends a lot of her time online, and with the internet as one of the only means for me to talk to my boyfriend, I understand how important it is to have ways of staying in touch. Here’s my question though, is there it impossible for you to meet ? Are you light years away from each other? Right now, my boyfriend is here visiting me from the states, 6 hour drive. Sure, let’s argue some people do not have the luxury of owning a vehicle, or even living on the same side of the planet. Then my question is, are you happy with spending REAL money, for fake money to spend time online at some mall, instead of spending that REAL money for REAL life experience at the mall ?

I guess , my dislike is only towards the most extreme cases of users. I mean, I still go to school, go out, hand out with friends, and I love food. I need to leave the house basically is what I’m saying. But that doesn’t change the fact that I also spend a large number of hours on WoW.

I think, all in all… having relationships online is great. One of the greatest things is that you can truly connect with someone, there’s no other distractions. But I think, sometimes it can get carried away, and being someone online with no conciquences is tempting. For example, in 2nd life, you are given the ability to fly, and teleport. And in WoW, I can cast magic spells, and win epic battles with friends.I think what I’m getting at is, as long as you realize it’s not real, and there is a life for you outside of technology. then it’s okay. When your life is the technology you use and play, then.. you’ve probably gone too far.

Leave a Reply

